Wednesday, 26 September 2018

26th September 2018 | Assam Daily Current Affairs for APSC

  • Union Minister for Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari today announced that the National Highway Authority of India (NHAI) would withdraw and the National Highways and Infrastructure Development Corporation Limited (NHIDCL) would take its place for development of roads in the Northeast. Informing about the decision after a two-day review meeting of the ongoing national highway projects in the Northeast with chief ministers of the region, Gadkari said the NHIDCL is implementing sanctioned road projects worth Rs 1,66,000 crore in the Northeast. The NHAI, he added, has completed construction of 850 km of roads in the region costing Rs 7,000 crore. 
  • Kerala-based Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham University has set up a wireless sensor network system in Sikkim-Darjeeling belt to predict and signal early warning of landslides to locals.
  • Luka Modric ended Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi’s decade-long domination of football’s individual awards by being crowned FIFA’s best player of the year.
  • Noted writer Mayur Bora was conferred the Dr Moidul Islam Bora Literary Award 2018 by the Dr Moidul Islam Bora Smriti Rakshya Samity

The State Cabinet, under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, several amendments which includes-

  • The Assam Special Land Act to give relief to small tea growers. Small tea growers would now be exempted from levy of cess amounting to 10 paise per kilogram. To promote tea export, the exporters who export tea from the Amingaon centre would get an exemption of Rs 6 per kilogram, sources added.
  • The Cabinet approved the Inland Water Transport Authority Bill for regulating and inspecting all vessels for their safety measures. 
  • Approved the Sports University Bill to set up a sports university at Chabua in the name of Aniruddha Dev.
  • Launch an old age pension scheme to below poverty level (BPL) and above poverty level (APL) beneficiaries from October 2 this year. The scheme will be launched by the Chief Minister in a function to be held at Sarusajai stadium here.
  • Amendment in the Assam GST Act by which GST registration has been relaxed from Rs 10 lakh annual turnover to Rs 20 lakh annual turnover.
  • Congratulated filmmaker Rima Das and decided to give her Rs 50 lakh as reward for her movie Village Rockstars that has been selected as India’s official entry for the Academy Awards, 2019.

List of Awardees

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: Virat Kohli and Mirabai Chanu.
  • Arjuna Awards: Neeraj Chopra, Jinson Johnson and Hima Das (Athletics); N Sikki Reddy (Badminton); Satish Kumar (Boxing); Smriti Mandhana (Cricket); Shubhankar Sharma (Golf); Manpreet Singh, Savita (Hockey), Ravi Rathore (Polo), Rahi Sarnobat, Ankur Mittal, Shreyasi Singh (Shooting); Manika Batra, G Sathiyan (Table Tennis); Rohan Bopanna (Tennis); Sumit (Wrestling); Pooja Kadian (Wushu); Ankur Dhama (Para-Athletics); Manoj Sarkar (Para-Badminton).
  • Dronacharya Awards: CA Kuttappa (Boxing); Vijay Sharma (Weightlifting); A Srinivasa Rao (Table Tennis); Sukhdev Singh Pannu (Athletics); Clarence Lobo (Hockey, Lifetime); Tarak Sinha (Cricket, Lifetime); Jiwan Kumar Sharma (Judo, Lifetime); VR Beedu (Athletics, Lifetime).
  • Dhyan Chand Awards: Satyadev Prasad (Archery); Bharat Kumar Chetry (Hockey); Bobby Aloysius (Athletics); Chougale Dadu Dattatray (Wrestling).
  • Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar: Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent: Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited, Encouragement to Sports through Corporate Social Responsibility: JSW Sports, Sports for Development: Isha Outreach, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2017-18: Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar.


Post a Comment