Monday, 25 June 2018

23rd - 25th June 2018 | Daily Current Affairs for APSC

  1.  India’s tea exports are expected to clock a 5 per cent growth this year in terms of volume, provided shipments to Iran do not get disturbed. “There are some challenges in the current year in terms of tea exports. India’s tea exports to Iran, which was a good customer last year, may get disrupted as the US has threatened to re-establish (nuclear programme-related) sanctions on Iran. The Centre is working on it so that bilateral trade between the two countries (India-Iran) continues,” Bezboruah told IANS. India achieved the highest tea exports in 2017 after 36 years, exporting 251.91 million kg in the last calendar year, up by 13.24 per cent from 222.45 million kg exported during 2016. Tea exports will continue to expand in the UAE, the US, China, Russia and the Middle East. In the production front, the crop production was at 1,325.05 million kg in the last fiscal, an increase of 74.56 million kg as compared to 2016-17.
  2. NRC Update: 3.29 crore people applied for inclusion of names in the NRC and names of around 1.90 crore people were included in the first draft. The final draft was supposed to be published on June 30, but it may be delayed by a few days as floods in several districts affected the process.
  3. Government of Manipur launched Agar tree (Agarwood) plantation in the State as a substitute for poppy plantation. The joint operation teams of the Narcotics and Affairs of Border (NAB), security forces, district administration and volunteers have destroyed 1,837 acres of poppy plantations at 36 locations in the State this year alone which were worth about Rs 128 crore.
  4. The Sports Journalists Federation of India (SJFI) at the Annual General Body meeting decided to confer the inaugural SJFI medal to tennis legend Vijay Amritraj. The 64-year-old multi-faceted Padma Shri awardee will be honoured during the SJFI annual convention scheduled to be held in Bengaluru from September 18-22.
  5. The London sitting of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Working Group-II discussed the possibilities of providing an independent slot for the Assamese script in the US-based Unicode Consortium and agreed to rename the Unicodes attached to the Assamese script from its present Bengali script to Bangla/Assamese script.The meeting, held with a five-day programme between June 18 and June 22, also decided to review this decision provided the Bureau of Indian Standard (BIS) sends a fresh recommendation for providing a separate slot for Assamese script in the Unicode.
  6. Rekha Das of Guwahati has bagged the second runners-up title of Mrs India Universe held at Colombo recently.She also won two sub-titles – Mrs India Universe East and Mrs India Universe Attractive. She had earlier won the title of Mrs India Global International-2017 and has been selected to represent India in the international platform.

The Sahitya Akademi announced the names of 21 winners of its Bal Sahitya Puraskar and 21 recipients of the Yuva Puraskar for this year.

  1. The Bal Puraskar awards will be conferred at a function on November 14, while the date for conferring the Yuva Puraskar awards has not been declared yet.
  2. Ten poetry books, seven of short stories, three novels and one play have been chosen for the Yuva Puraskar award. The award comprises a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque and a cheque of Rs 50,000 for both types of awards.
  3. In the children’s category, awards have been declared for: Jugallochan Das (Assamese), Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay (Bengali), Sitaram Basumatary (Bodo), Easterine Kire (English), Chandrakant Sheth (Gujarati), Divik Ramesh (Hindi), Kanchyani Sharanappa Shivasangappa (Kannada), Zareef Ahmad Zareef (Kashmiri), Kumud Bhiku Naik (Konkani), Vaidya Nath Jha (Maithili), PK Gopi (Malayalam), Khangembam Shamungou (Manipuri).
  4. Also named for the awards are: Ratnakar Matkari (Marathi), Bhim Pradhan (Nepali), Birendra Mohanty (Odia), Tarsem(Punjabi), CL Sankhla (Rajasthani), Sampadanand Mishra (Sanskrit), Laxminarayan Hansda (Santali), Kalpana Ashok Chellani (Sindhi), Kriungai Sethupathy (Tamil), Naramshetti Umamaheswar Rao (Telugu) and Rais Siddiqui (Urdu).
  5. Poetry dominated the Yuva Puraskar awards this year. They have been declared for Samragnee Bandyopadhyay (Bengali), Esha Dadawala (Gujarati), Aasteek Vajpeyi (Hindi), Wilma Bantwal (Konkani), Umesh Paswan (Maithili), Tongbram Amarjit Singh (Manipuri), Jayadratha Suna (Odia), Dushyant Joshi (Rajasthani), Muni Rajsundar Vijay (Sanskrit) and Bala Sudhakar Mouli (Telugu).
  6. The awardees in the short stories category include Bipasha Bora (Assamese), Padmanabha Bhat (Kannada), Dheeba Nazir (Kashmiri), Chhuden Kabimu (Nepali), Rani Murmu (Santali), Suneel Krishnan (Tamil), Shahnaz Rahman (Urdu).
  7. The awards in the ‘novel’ category will be given to Amal (Malayalam), Navnath Gore (Marathi) and Gurpreet Sehji (Punjabi). Champa Chetnani has been cited for her Sindhi play.

Editorial Focus : Strategies needed for future growth of Guwahati 


Post a Comment